Beautiful Thing #2124: Music

11200711+00:00 at 11200711+00:00 2 comments

    There is not a person in the world who does not like music.  If you ever meet someone who says to you, “Music, I don’t like that stuff.”  Run.  That person is a psychopath.  If you just read that sentence and said aloud to yourself and your 18th century doll collection, “Hey, I’m not a psychopath!” while rubbing your hands and rocking back and forth, I’ve got bad news, yes you are.  Put down the icepick and lipstick and please go seek proffesional help or Scientology immediately. 

   Now that that guy is gone, you and me, we can rap.  Can you Handel that?   As I said before, music is so transcendentally beautiful, it’s been called the Universal Language (If you’ve been reading lately, you’ll remember that Language is Beautiful Thing #50).   We turn to music to express what words cannot, or to add power to our words.  Take these words,

But the Colorado rocky mountain high
I’ve seen it rainin’ fire in the sky
The shadow from the starlight is softer than a lullabye
Rocky mountain high

  Those are some mighty fine sentiments, but add a little acoustic guitar, perhaps some string accompaniments, and a melodious tenor voice and you’ve got pure magic.

  In all seriousness, we have music to calm our nerves, excite us to battle, dance the night away with that mysterious stranger, celebrate rituals,  and even soothe us when grieving.   Every once in a while, at a special moment or just driving in your car, music can touch that nameless place in your soul and makes you go, “Oooo yeah, that’s the spot.  Don’t stop, music…  don’t… stop…” 

Don’t stop, music.  Don’t stop. 

SHOW ME MORE BEAUTIFUL THINGS!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Beautiful Things #82 and #83: Fruits and Vegetables Beautiful Think # 212: The Brain

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jessica  |  11200711+00:00 at 11200711+00:00

    Dude, my grandma doesn’t really like music. I think its kind of strange myself.
    This blog reminds me that I need to be working on my labor music mix. I wonder what I should put on it.

    Reply
  • 2. sue  |  120091+00:00 at 120091+00:00

    There is a percentage of people whose brains are wired such that they don’t like music. But saying that you don’t like music is so absolutely politically incorrect, no one will admit it.
    If anyone can tell me the name of brain based research book that I read this in recently, I would be grateful. This book even listed the percent of folks with this brain wiring. I have read a few books on brain research, so can’t remember which listed this data.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2007
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Most Recent Posts